slow cooker pizza

One thing that is clearly important, beyond the scrapping, at crops is the food.  Pizza is always a natural choice of a lot of places and it works well.  Patti, however, has started to cook for us…  she made this the other night and I am woman enough to admit that not only did I eat a huge helping with salad, but dared to go back for seconds!  I will live with title of “Crop Pig” for the next several months, but the stuff was that good!

Here is Patti’s recipe – not sure where she got it from, but man, it is good stuff!

 1 1/2 lbs ground beef or turkey
1/4 c. onion chopped
1 lb wide egg noodles
1 jar spaghetti sauce
1 jar (4 1/2 oz) sliced mushrooms
1 1/2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
1 pkg (3 1/2 oz) pepperoni
3 cups mozzarella cheese, shredded
3 cups cheddar cheese, shredded

Cook egg noodles and drain
Brown meat & onion.  Drain off grease, stir in spaghetti sauce, mushrooms, and
Italian seasoning. 

In 5 qt slow cooker coat with non stick spray, layer 1/3 of meat mixture,  1/3 of
noodles, layer of peperoni, 1 cup cheddar cheese and 1 cup mozzarella cheese,
repeat 2 more times.

Cook for 3-4 hours on low

Serves 6-8

Thanks, Patti, for sharing your recipe and for taking the time to cook for all of us! (And, FYI – that serves 6-8 if I am not there… I almost licked – yes, I typed licked – my paper plate clean…  I am not ashamed to admit this, either…)

2 Comments

Filed under Food - Yes it is a category

2 responses to “slow cooker pizza

  1. I’ll be totally honest. The ingredients, all together like that scare me. Growing up in So. Ca, I might think about bring alfalfa sprout sandwiches to a crop- HA HA!

  2. Connie Melancon

    This sounds so yummy (I would leave out the mushrooms!) MMMM

Leave a Reply

