ok, let’s start rockin’…

Time to get this party started, right?!?!?!

I have spring break this coming week and I hope to spend a good chunk of time chatting, cropping, and just hanging out here and in stores and, well, anywhere I can!!! 

Last week was rough, but as Chicken Little says, “Today is a new day!”  and I truly believe that.   And this is a new week. 

So, with that in mind, I am starting with something a little different…  a recipe from my Grandma Fetter’s sister in law…  yes, I know, it is a round-about way to get a recipe, but here is another true-crop story…

This weekend we went to my mom and dad’s for Easter.  Saturday, my grandparents came up to visit.  My grandma brought this snack with, the recipe she got from Aunt Gloria.  It was awesome, and since I was cropping at my mom’s in her crop space, I quickly realized that this is a great mix of salty and sweet, no-mess, perfect crop snack!  So now I am sharing with you this addictive, albeit strange-sounding recipe, but trust me… it is AWESOME… 

Aunt Gloria’s Yummy Snack (as it will now be officially known…)

Oh, and by the way – no calories/fat/carbs/cholesterol in this at all if eaten while cropping – scissor use burns more than you can imagine (hahahahahahaha!!!!)

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 stick margarine
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2-3/4 cup (your preference) chopped pecans
  • 1 box club crackers

Make a single layer of crackers on a large jelly roll pan.  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Bring butter, margarine, and sugar to a boil for three minutes.  Stir in pecans.  Pour mix over crackers.  Bake at 350 degrees for 7 minutes.  Remove and cool on wax paper.  Store in an airtight container. 

PS…  Grandpa says you need to wait until they cool to eat them – he learned the hard way about patience!!!

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Food - Yes it is a category, Tales from the crop

2 responses to “ok, let’s start rockin’…

  1. Debby

    Do you promise that using scissors will burn the calories? This sounds to yum to pass up.

  2. Connie Melancon

    Sounds YUMMY!!! PS I don’t count calories when scrapbooking either!

Leave a Reply

