a mini-book in depth

I love overlays – this is no surprise.  In our recent K&P kits, there was a Hambly sheet with 4, 6×6 squares that are supercool!  I cut them apart, as well as some of the paper and cardstock, to create a 6×6 mini-book highlighting four years of Owen’s life.

Here it is…

 This is the cover, which is one of the overlays… 

 When you open it, there is a current pic of Owen and one when he first came home from the hospital…

 For this one, I wanted to show a variety of different ages…

 Again, a contrast – then and now…  the now page is built on another overlay…

  I really wanted to share the photos and my thoughts as Owen is turning four.  The brown page is another overlay…

  The good and the bad…  everyday…

  The little page I created with my fingertip craft knife, cutting out a corner of the paper for the picture. 

  two more contrasting photos

  And, my thoughts at the end.

I was truly inspired by Stacy Julian’s book, Photo Freedom (I browsed her copy in Canada – I have to admit, I still need to go buy it!!!)  We talked a lot about mixing old and new photos in books or on layouts to show time passing.  It was fun to work on this while at my mom’s.  We sat there, looking back over the last four years.  It has gone by sooooooo fast that it is unbelievable.  I look at those baby pics and am in shock that he was ever that small.  I loved looking back through my old pics and reprinting them in black and white, cropping them, and just remembering!  I used my K&P kit for most of it – the ribbon is mine and then I used the Cloud 9 Eyelet Raindots for the holes!

Thanks for looking!

8 Comments

Filed under Crop Girl Creations, Uncategorized

8 responses to “a mini-book in depth

  1. Paula

    You never cease to amaze with the things you come up with. I love this! I’ve always had trouble figuring out how/where/when to use the overlays but I’m tempted now that my fav scrap giant (the big A) has a whole selection of them. 🙂

  2. Kira

    I love this idea! You are so clever to cut that transparency up like that. I’ve had one for a while and didn’t know what to do with it, but I love this idea so I’m gonna steal, er borrow it 😉 Thanks for sharing!

  3. I love it! I can’t wait to get my K&P kit. I have an acrylic mini album that I want to work on.

  4. onlysleepn

    This is one of the most beauiful books I have ever seen.

  5. To cute, and to think he is only 4, what until the day you send him off to college.

  6. Connie Melancon

    Stephenie you do such beautiful work! You give me great ideas. I love how you mixed the old with the current! connie #2909

  7. Michelle 3624

    As always I am so in awe of your work! It is great fun coming to your blog I really do enjoy it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

