little moments

After being away from home, can I just tell you how much all of those “little moments” mean.

The boys are having a rough go of it with all of the changes that are happening, but are the best little troopers.  When I got home Tuesday night, it was all smiles, hugs, and kisses.  Bed time, however, was a nightmare.  They wanted me to stay with them, to sleep in our bed, etc…  So, Jake was settled in their room, in a sleeping bag on the floor – don’t ask me… he wanted to camp out.  Owen was in our room, curled up on the bed.  I went in there and snuggled him.  He took my arm and cuddled it like a teddy bear and said, “I missed you mama… your kisses and snuggles.  I so glad you are home.”  About 30 seconds later, he was asleep.   Little moments.

Jake comes out of his room about 3 minutes later, crying, and ends up sitting in my lap in the recliner downstairs, drinking some milk.  Matt put Owen in his bed and Jake fell asleep next to me in ours.  There is nothing better than that feeling of your kids curling up next to you and almost melting into you out of sheer relaxation and comfort.  Little moments.

Last night Matt and I went to a Cubs game together.  It was our first night out, together, with no kids, in a while.  We had a quiet dinner, went to the game, and then went out for a bit once we were close to home.  We sat and talked, held hands, laughed, and just reconnected.  It was fantastic.  Little moments.

Life is full of little moments, but mine have been so wonderful since I got home.  It is just so nice to have this time with them…

Enjoy your little moments today.

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “little moments

  1. Glad to hear that things are working out. We miss you around here too!!!

  2. the little moments are great. i need to focus on the little moments in life, instead of the other larger more stressfull moments.

    (warning, sappy comment ahead)
    thanks for the reminder and the little warmth i my heart when i read about your little moments with your family

  3. Thanks for reminding me that life is about the little moments!

  4. Tammy

    That’s awesome!! I’m glad you were able to get some time in with the boys & some time alone with Matt. Glad everything is working itself out!

  5. Debby

    beautiful…with your love they will quickly adjust.

Leave a Reply

