power outage = peace

Our power was out last night for a few hours.  I was in the living room and actually heard the transformer blow as the neighborhood faded to black. 

The boys spent the night at Matt’s parents’ house and he was out bowling…  I was alone and in the dark. 

First off, it is amazing to me how far technology has come.  I grabbed my iPhone, got online, then called ComEd.  I used the light from the phone to find the candle lighter and then hunkered down.

I went upstairs, called my mom and had a lovely long conversation.

Then, debating on whether or not to go to bed early, I looked over and saw some magazines I had yet to open.  The only sounds were cars outside and the the crackle of the candles I had lit. 

Lately, the only time I have to look at magazines are in airports or on airplanes.  And, even then, I browse, I don’t read.  I felt like a teenager again.  I grabbed my pillow, laid on my stomach with my head at the end of the bed, and READ the magazine.  It was quiet, cozy, and just the unplugged evening that I needed.

I think that last night was a forced break for this crazy mom.  I think that it was God telling me that I needed to unplug and take a break and since I wouldn’t do it myself, He’d do it for me! 

And for that, I am so grateful.

4 Comments

Filed under Life

4 responses to “power outage = peace

  1. Glad you made the most of it 🙂

  2. onlysleepn

    That sounds like a wonderful way to spend an evening!

  3. Patty W

    Glad you powered down ! LOL

    Ours was out for 3 days… fun? not so much !

  4. How deliciously wonderful. This happened to us this last month and we pulled out the camping lanterns and monopoly. A lovely evening indeed.

Leave a Reply

