change

has been my word for the year.  It is something that has been terrifying and yet wonderful to embrace.  My guess is that it is time for a “change” 2008 recap as we head into the homestretch towards the end of the year…

  1. Had to re-apply for my Fiskateer job…
  2. Decided to apply for a job at Fiskars HQ…
  3. Quit my teaching job of 8 years with tenure…
  4. Put the house on the market in the wonderful 2008 atmosphere…
  5. Began commuting to and from Madison every week…
  6. Took my first Big Picture class…
  7. Had my first item ever published in a magazine…
  8. Grew my hair out longer…
  9. Learning how to sew better…  slowly but surely…
  10. Learning to be more assertive and candid with people…
  11. Taking on the challenge of managing others for the first time – including my best friend…  a little weird…
  12. Travelling more than ever…
  13. Went to Canada – had to get a passport… 

As I think back on all the new adventures and challenges that we have embraced this year, it is almost unreal.  This has definitely been a year of change for us as a family.  And, a year of change for me personally. 

I truly believe that embracing it has made it all go easier…  I have accepted everything thrown at me and have enjoyed a good 90% of it.  There are days where I truly feel challenged and discouraged.  Most days, however, I just smile, knowing that it is all happening and changing for a reason.  Everything from still trying to sell the house to travelling 3 more times before Thanksgiving are part of the change and I know that the house will sell when it is supposed to so that we can get the house we are supposed to.  The travel is providing opportunities I never expected.

If you talked to me a year ago, well, let’s just say the thought of being where I am now was a dream that I never would have believed in.  After a rough October, November, and December 2007, I resolved to change before the depression I had sunk into enveloped me.  I couldn’t see my way out, but now I can not only see it, but I am living it.  There truly is something to the idea of living your life the way you want it to be.  Seeing yourself doing things you can only dream of is amazing…

So now… to ponder next years’ word…

Sorry for the long, rambling post…  just needed to share!

4 Comments

Filed under Crop Girl Adventures, Life

4 responses to “change

  1. Lisa Falduto

    Oh Stephanie, what an inspiring blog post! You really have gone through so many changes which only helps you to continue to grow. I think sometimes just stepping out of your comfort zone and doing something totally different can be inspiring and life changing! Thanks for being open and sharing so much about yourself!

  2. Isn’t it amazing how much difference and change a year can make?

    My family and I moved back to Wisconsin and are living in the Madison area. If you ever want to get together and crop at a local store, let me know.

    Jennie
    Fiskateer #414

  3. This post is very inspiring. My 2008 has been full of changes too…both good and bad. I’m learning to embrace each situation and learn from it…not let it get me down.
    You and the other Fiskateers have put many smiles on my face in times when I felt like smiling was the last thing on earth I would do again.

    Thanks Stephenie and all the wonderful Fiskateers out there! I’m so glad you got he job at Fiskars…You are an asset to that company, but I do miss talking to you as often.

  4. What a beautiful post. This year has been an amazing journey of change for you. My word for this year is miracles. Thank you for the inspiration to make a list for my word. I see it happening, but haven’t written it down yet.

Leave a Reply

