victory gardens

Now that I am officially doing work for the garden side at Fiskars as well as craft, I am slowly but surely learning a little, okay a LOT, about gardening.  Most of it so fast and furious that it is not all processing, but I am trying my best.  

One of the topics that keeps coming up are Victory Gardens.  It wasn’t, however, until I read this blog post that I truly understood it.  And, also realized I was living it.

With Matt still looking for a job and the economy the way it is, I decided that we would plant a real garden this year.  Now, Joe Lamp’l talks about $25 victory gardens.  Ours was a bit more than that, but I think that has a lot to do with the fact that we had no idea what we were doing!  However…  we have a 12’x12′ garden ready to grow corn, beans, tomatoes, broccolli, peppers, peas, carrots, squash, zucchini,  strawberries, cantaloupe, and more.  Jake has requested grapes, and I am still looking for good concord grape starts.  I know we over-bought stuff…  I did starts in the living room that also included a lot of herbs that there is no room for.  Those will have to either go in pots in the house or find another home outside.  I also had seeds left over and even some starts left over once we put them in the garden.  Next year we will have a much better idea.  Plus, the garden itself, complete with edging and chicken wire to keep our herd of local wild bunnies out, is complete for next year.  So, hopefully we can have a $25 Victory Garden next year!

Is it a true Victory Garden if you did it by accident?  I don’t know.  What I do know is this… in a few months, I will be enjoying the fruits and veggies of my labor (which left me sore and practically immobile and totally aware of how out of shape I am) all summer, fall, and winter.  Oh yes, we will be canning and freezing at my house this year!  So to me, I guess my own homegrown fruits and veggies is a victory all its own.

431px-victory-garden

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “victory gardens

  1. Great perspective on Victory Gardens! I love that your own fresh fruit and vegetables will be a sweet victory for you. Best, Stephanie

  2. i want to have a victory garden. is it too late? help! maybe i should start a blog segment about how to start my victory garden with you as my guide. LOL i have the space…just no idea where to start.

  3. Lisa

    You are doing work for the garden side now too? Cool……….tell me what you are doing for the gardening side…

  4. Way to go Steph! I have been doing yard work and I am right there with ya on being sore. My goodness I had no idea one could get so sore.

    Good luck with the bunnies… we have them in our neighborhood too actually I have a family living in my yard and pretty much cannot keep them out of anything or from eating everything. They are so cute to watch but man they can eat your plants fast.

    Can’t wait to see photos of your Victory Garden.

Leave a Reply

