thinking…

thinking

I have been thinking a lot lately, which is a very dangerous thing for me to be doing.  I have been thinking about life, work, family, etc…  sometimes it is all a tad overwhelming if you truly stop to think about it.

A year ago I was in the throes of my commute to and from WI, desperate to sell our house in Chicago, and just praying for change to happen.  It did, and we all were here for New Year’s Eve.

This year I have been focusing on the word “thrive” – or at least I was planning to.  Sometimes all the hustle and bustle of regular life gets in the way and that focus is lost.  It has been lost a LOT for me lately if I am being truly honest. 

Last year I embraced “change” whole-heartedly.  Why have I not been able to embrace “thrive” with the same passion and attention?  Was it the wrong word or the wrong year for that word?  I am not sure, but as it is now October and we are definitely NOT thriving, I think it is time to re-examine that word and it’s meaning.  It is time to look at what it really means and how I can begin to embrace it before 2009 is over.  As a family and as individuals, we deserve to thrive in all that we do, so it is time to get down to the business of it…  it is time to thrive!

From Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary, I found this…

 

Main Entry: thrive
Pronunciation: \ˈthrīv\
Function: intransitive verb
Inflected Form(s): thrived or throve \ˈthrōv\; thrived also thriv·en \ˈthri-vən\; thriv·ing \ˈthrī-viŋ\
Etymology: Middle English, from Old Norse thrīfask, probably reflexive of thrīfa to grasp
Date: 13th century

1 : to grow vigorously : flourish
2 : to gain in wealth or possessions : prosper
3 : to progress toward or realize a goal despite or because of circumstances —often used with on <thrives on conflict>

thriv·er \ˈthrī-vər\ noun

Maybe it is time that I am the noun of that word – thriver – and get to it… 

Okay, enough of this for today…  back to our regularly scheduled crafty blogging…

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Misc. Stuff...

Leave a Reply

