day 5 {a scarf}

When I saw this project by Brookelynn Morris on Craft, I fell in love!!!!  (She is an amazing artisan, by the way…) I saved the link and headed out to Goodwill on the hunt for the perfect sweaters to create mine.  I brought them home, washed them, dried them, and then never got to work!!

Now the day is here to blog about it and I just finished my version at 11:00pm last night, so if you are reading this early in the morning, you are seeing the sample from the linked project directions.  If you are reading in the late morning/early afternoon, hopefully there is an edit note and the addition of my photos as well…  I just wanted to wait until I had good light for the pics to share mine!

And, for those of you who know me, you know I m not a sewer – so if I can do it, you can, too!!

UPDATE/EDIT…

Well, I got mine done and photographed, so here you go…  The one thing that I did different from her instructions was to create a little clip.  I noticed that once you pull the ribbon to tighten it up into pretty bunches, the ribbons hang and dangle around…  so I made a little coordinating clip to help anchor them somewhat.  I actually used a hair clip to do it because I was afraid that a pin would be too loose and allow for too much wiggle room.  The hair clip worked perfectly!!! 

Anyway, here is my interpretation of this amazing project and I cannot wait to get to work making more!

Today’s giveaway is another Gingher rotary cutter to aid in the repurposing of a sweater near you!  And, while I am at, why not throw in a scarf, too!  (Color may vary from image posted here…)  NOW CLOSED – Winner has been announced!

10 Comments

Filed under Crop Girl Contests, Crop Girl Creations

10 responses to “day 5 {a scarf}

  1. wow, good for you steph!!!

  2. Jenna

    What a great way to recycle old sweaters! Great idea – thanks!

  3. Traci

    Turned out way. too. cute! Way to go! Super idea for repurposing – thank you so much for sharing! Definitely going to give this one a try.

  4. connie #2909

    What a great project! I am not a sewer either. Thanks for link.

  5. Renee

    Great idea…love the clip you added.

  6. Oh this looks like such a fun project. I love the clip you added as well. I too, bookmarked the page you linked with the instructions. Awesome!

  7. love this and I use to sew all the time, I may just break out the machine and try one of these for the girls for christmas.

  8. Wow, Stephenie…that is very cool! I guess you know how crafty you are. 🙂

  9. What a great gift idea… I will have to try to squeeze in a goodwill visit this weekend!

  10. Marlene

    What a cool idea! I doubt I’ll ever try it, but so neat! I love watching your blog for all of the great ideas!

Leave a Reply

